Faculty and Staff

Our faculty come from a wide range of departments including Botany and Integrative Biology (L&S), Obstetrics and Gynecology (Medical School) and Forest and Wildlife Ecology (CALS).  Together they represent a broad range of scientific talent and biological expertise.

Our faculty and staff have worked together to develop a set of core learning goals designed to provide our students with:

  • a solid foundation in the fundamental concepts and knowledge base of modern biology
  • a coherent framework for understanding biology and
  • solid preparation for upper-level courses.

We have also been involved in development of a number of active learning methods for lecture, discussion, and lab that provide further opportunities for our students’ growth in critical thinking and research skills that are integral to the scientific process.

Name

Role

Title and Department

Email

Baum, David 152 Lecturer, Evolution Professor of Botany dbaum@wisc.edu
Blair, Seth Faculty Director 151/3-152
151 Lecturer, Cell Biology, Genetics
Professor and Associate Chair of Integrative Biology ssblair@facstaff.wisc.edu
Breschak, Jon 151/3-152 Coordinator Teaching Faculty III- Department of Integrative Biology breschak@wisc.edu
Damschen, Ellen 152 Lecturer, Ecology Professor of Integrative Biology damschen@wisc.edu
Edlund, Sarah 151/3-152 Coordinator Teaching Faculty III- Department of Integrative Biology sedlund@wisc.edu
Gilroy, Simon 151/152 Lecturer, Cell Biology, Plant Physiology Professor of Botany sgilroy@wisc.edu
Hinkens, Beth Lab Specialist Teach, Learn, & Tech Specialist II- Department of Integrative Biology eahinkens@wisc.edu
Hotchkiss, Sara 152 Lecturer, Ecology Professor of Botany & Bryson Professor of Climate, People, & Environment, Center for Climatic Research shotchkiss@wisc.edu
Madison, Farrah 151 Lecturer, Animal Physiology Professor of Integrative Biology fnmadison@wisc.edu
Marlin, Alison Introductory Biology Specialist Academic Program Specialist, Department of Integrative Biology marlin@wisc.edu
Martin, Kerry 151/3-152 Coordinator Teaching Faculty III- Department of Integrative Biology kerrymartin@wisc.edu
McCulloh, Katherine 152 Lecturer, Plant Physiology Associate Professor of Botany kmcculloh@wisc.edu
Pauli, Jonathan 152 Lecturer, Ecology Professor of Forest & Wildlife Ecology jnpauli@wisc.edu
Sharma, Prashant 151 Lecturer, Evolution Associate Professor of Integrative Biology, Director of the UW Zoological Museum prashant.sharma@wisc.edu
Scherer, Brendan 151/3-152 Coordinator Teaching Faculty III- Department of Integrative Biology bpscherer@wisc.edu
Yahn, Jeremiah 151/3-152 Coordinator
151 Lecturer, Animal Physiology
Teaching Faculty III- Department of Integrative Biology jyahn@wisc.edu